By Rick Reeno

BoxingScene.com was advised that Nate Campbell's camp has already begun the appeal process with the California State Athletic Commission. On Saturday night at the Agua Caliente Casino in Rancho Mirage, California, Timothy Bradley retained his WBO junior welterweight title with a third-round TKO after Nate Campbell's vision was hindered in his left eye. The fight was stopped in Campbell's corner before the start of the fourth.

There was no disputing the clash of heads but there is plenty of incorrect information regarding the events that led to the fight being stopped. From I was told by Terry Trekas, Campbell's co-promoter, the fight was not stopped because of the cut. The fight was stopped when the ringside physician made a determination that Campbell had blood behind the eye.

Prior to the stoppage, Campbell had told his corner that he was seeing spots in the left eye and advised them to stop the fight because something was wrong. When the doctor entered the ring to take a look, he spotted blood behind Campbell's eye and told his corner the fight was immediately being stopped.

Campbell was later taken to the hospital to check for possible retina damage. The necessary paperwork has already been presented to the California commission to begin the appeal process and Campbell's camp will present their case to the WBO. They hope the official fight verdict will be changed from a TKO loss to a no-decision. Campbell's camp does not have any issues with Bradley or his promoter Gary Shaw. They blame the referee David Mendoza for making an incorrect call by ruling that Campbell's eye damage was caused by a punch.

“It has nothing to do with the cut. The doctor saw blood behind Nate’s eye and immediately stopped it. The doctor told him to go immediately to the hospital because there could be possible retina damage. The commission members tried to drag Nate out of the ring so he could go to the hospital but Nate wanted to stay to give his side of the story.  Nate is at the hospital and my main concern is that he doesn’t have any retina damage,” Trekas said to BoxingScene.

"The clash of heads caused the damage to the eye and everyone, even the referee, said there was a clash of heads. The fight should have been a no-decision."