By Ludo Saenz, NotiFight
Several reports from Japan indicate unrest within the Japanese boxing press, due to a misunderstanding, in regards to IBF world super flyweight champion, Daiki Kameda, and his rights to retain his IBF crown and status as world champion - despite losing a very close split decision against former WBA champion, Liborio Solis, last week in Osaka, Japan.
Many in the Japanese media mistakenly believe that this decision, where Kameda retained his IBF belt, was an improvised decision by the IBF and even went as far as to unfairly ask the Japanese boxing commission (JBC) to impose a penalty over Daiki Kameda, who has no influence over the rules of the IBF.
Despite his defeat, according to IBF rules (1.A.2. "Challenger's Failure to Make Weight"), Daiki Kameda retained his IBF belt because Solis (the challenger) did not meet the official weight of 115 pounds, during the official weigh-in ceremony, held one day before the fight.
In Osaka, the day before the fight, during the rules meeting, IBF championships committee chairman and IBF supervisor of the fight, Lindsey Tucker, confirmed the regulation of the IBF on Kameda's championship status, win or lose, when questioned by Kameda Promotions representative, Ricardo Rizzo. Also, in the rules meeting, Liborio Solis and his coach, Celso Chavez, were present.
In addition, during the post-fight press conference with the Japanese media, immediately after the bout, Tucker again confirmed the position of the IBF, declaring that Kameda would continue as the IBF super flyweight champion, despite losing the fight with Solis.Tags: Daiki Kameda