By Anson Wainwright
At the end of May, WBC junior bantamweight champion Srisaket Sor Rungvisai travelled to Mexico where he took on his mandatory challenger Carlos Cuadras. The two fought on near even terms for much of the contest however Cuadras was cut over the left eye and the fight went to the scorecards.
Cuadras was awarded an eighth round technical decision by scores of 78-73, 77-75, 77-74, with Srisaket losing a point as per WBC rules for accidental headbutt rule.
Since the fight his promoter Thainchai Pisitwuttinan confirmed his fighter has taken time off and enjoyed a good rest with family but is now back in training.
Thainchai would also say Srisaket felt very unfortunate that the cut happened and that the fight had to be stopped because of the cut.
"He (Srisaket) believes that Carlos Cuadras was hurt and he would have been able to finish Cuadras within a few more rounds," Thainchai told BoxingScene.com "So he is upset that he could not show everything he had in the fight. He deeply respects the officials for doing their jobs, and he is now very determined to get the title back."
It remains to be seen whether Srisaket (27-4-1, 25 knockouts) will get the rematch. He appears to deserve the opportunity having lost his belt to Cuadras in unfortunate circumstances.
Questions and/or comments can be sent to Anson at firstname.lastname@example.org and you can follow him at www.twitter.com/AnsonWainwright