Advertisement
Advertisement
Boxingscene.com

Satoshi Shimizu Receives Justice From The AIBA

By Jake Donovan

A strange day of Olympic officiating was met with a bit of justice in the end.

Satoshi Shimizu of Japan will now advance to the bantamweight quarterfinals thanks to a ruling from the AIBA overturning the official decision in his bout with Magomed Abdulhamidov of Azerbaijain.

A statement from the AIBA reads as follows:

“After reviewing the video of Bout #105 involving Bantamweights Satoshi Shimizu (Japan) and Magomed Abdulhamidov (Azerbaijan), the Competition Jury made the following decision:

- The boxer from Azerbaijan fell down six (6) times during the 3rd round. According to our rules, the Referee should have counted at least three (3) times. In this case, following the AIBA Technical & Competition Rules, the decision should have been RSC (Referee Stop Contest);

- Therefore the protest lodged by the Japanese corner is accepted and the result of this bout overturned.

AIBA officials will consider on Thursday morning whether to sanction the referee of this bout.”

Their Round of 16 bout was one of the most bizarre in Olympic history, one which saw Shimizu attempt to rally from two knockdowns and a seven point deficit heading into the final round. The Japanese southpaw tried his hardest to pull a rabbit out of hat, repeatedly drilling Abdulhamidov to the point of having him out on his feet at several moments.

Abdulhamidov sensed he was in deep trouble and suddenly began searching for ways to kill the clock. Frequent flops to the canvas followed, as well as requests to adjust headgear that never actually moved. Referee Ishanguly Meretnyyazov decided for whatever reason to waive off the majority of the flops, save for one occasion where he finally issued a two-point warning.

More concerning was the three knockdowns that went unrecognized. Shimizu – who never took a backward step the entire night even after being floored twice himself – repeatedly scored with straight lefts that had Abdulhamidov in all sorts of trouble. The AIBA rightfully recognized that the referee blew the calls, which if properly enforced would have resulted in a stoppage win for Shimizu.

The overturning of the final verdict allows Shimizu to move within one fight of the medal round. He will face Mohamed Ouadahi of Algeria in the final bantamweight bout on Sunday, August 5.

Jake Donovan is the Managing Editor of Boxingscene.com. Follow Jake on Twitter: @JakeNDaBox

Tags: Amateur Boxing image  
User Comments and Feedback (Register For Free To Comment) Comment by Fishkie on 08-02-2012

JUSTICE! Well done Satoshi Shimizu, he showed tones of heart & deserved the win. I will look forward to watching this kid :boxing:

Comment by Russian Crushin on 08-02-2012

WTF, he just slipped 6 times :rolleyes:

Comment by Kagami Taiga on 08-02-2012

[QUOTE=crold1;12393021]Bout damn time one of these abortions got undone. Atrocious.[/QUOTE] lol, it was quite boggling. one of the weirdest sequences ive seen in a while.

Comment by crold1 on 08-02-2012

Bout damn time one of these abortions got undone. Atrocious.

Post a Comment - View More User Comments (4)
Top Headlines CompuBox Statistical Update: Lomachenko Now #1 Defender Ravshan Hudaynazarov Return Scratched, Justin Thomas Wins Lomachenko Manager: No Surprise Rigondeaux Quit, It's a Shame Canelo vs. Golovkin Rematch Deal is "Getting Very Close" Photos: Francesco Patera, Edis Tatli Ready For Rematch Battle Former Manager: Rigondeaux Will Be Remembered For Quit Job Cletus Seldin Vows To Put Real Hurt on Ulysse in HBO Clash Lomachenko vs. Linares a Possibility, Says Golden Boy President Saunders: When I Beat Lemieux, Would Love to Fight Canelo Next Photos: Katie Taylor, Jessica McCaskill - Face To Face at Presser Hearn: Joshua vs. Parker Deal is Close, We're Ready To Overpay BJ Flores Expects Boost, Big Fights From Salita Promotions Deal Tyson Fury No-Shows UKAD Hearing, Creating Further Delay Kell Brook vs. Sergey Rabchenko on March 3 in Sheffield Weekend Review: Lomachenko Rises, Rigondeaux Sinks Frank Warren: DeGale Used Wrong Tactics, He is Not Washed Up Arum Not Least Bit Surprised Lomachenko Made Rigondeaux Quit Andre Ward: Lomachenko vs. Mikey Garcia is 50-50 Super Fight! Vasyl Lomachenko-Guillermo Rigondeaux: Post-Fight Report Card Corcoran: I'll Bring Horn Right Back To 9th of Pacquiao Fight Coldwell on a "Crazy" 2017: Bellew vs. Haye, McDonnell, More Darren Till, UFC Fighter, Inks Pact With MTK Global Parker: I Think We're Close To Locking in Anthony Joshua Fight Jeff Horn Angry: Online Keyboard Warriors Say I Fight Dirty! Wilder: I'll Make Cuban Sandwich Out of 'Bubbles The Chimp' Ortiz! When is a Loss Not a Loss? Photos: Jeff Horn, Gary Corcoran - Face To Face at Final Presser Luis Ortiz: Deontay Wilder is a Coward, I Saw Fear in His Eyes! Arum Denies Pacquiao-McGregor Talk: It's Total Nonsense Salido: All of The Wars Caught Up With Me, I'm an Old Fighter Now Andre Ward: Farmer Robbed, But He Can Bounce Back From This Arum: Lomachenko is Superhuman, Rigo Was Totally Bewildered! Video: Francisco Vargas Talks Comeback Win, Future Plans Lomachenko: Gary Russell Really Doesn't Want a Rematch With Me DeGale Unsure of Career Future, To Decide After New Year White Warns Arum: We'll See Where You Stand When Smoke Clears! Video: Miguel Roman Reflects on KO of Salido, Future Opponents Tevin Farmer: I Worked Too Hard To Get Robbed, I Deserved Win Video: Andre Ward on Loma-Rigo, Salido, Kovalev Return, More Lomachenko On Rigondeaux Injury: I've Fought With One Hand
Advertisement

Latest Active Forum Threads
Advertisement
Advertisement