By Chris LaBate
According to a report in The Philippine Star, WBO welterweight champion Manny Pacquiao saw nothing illegal with the two-punch combination that Floyd Mayweather Jr. landed on Victor Ortiz in the fourth round of their fight at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas. After Ortiz fouled Mayweather with a headbutt, he touched gloves and hugged the fight, but was he moved away from the hug - Mayweather landed two punches that knocked Ortiz out.
“Very poor sportsmanship,” said Pacquiao. [But] it was not illegal.
Pacquiao's trainer, Freddie Roach, called it a cheap shot. He felt referee Joe Crotez lost control of the contest.
“Yeah [it was a cheap shot]. The referee was still talking to someone at ringside. And I didn’t see him said ‘box’ like they always do. I think he lost control,” said Roach.