Bookmark Website  | Free Registration  | The Team

Boxing Champions |  Boxing Schedule |  Boxing Video  |  Boxing History   |  Pound For Pound  | The Wire |  Audio  |  Arcade
Lebedev and Pirog Grab Top Honors at PBFR Awards - Boxing News
BoxingScene Archive
• Boxing Articles
• Boxing Interviews
• Breaking News
• Boxing Press Releases
• Boxing Results
• World Boxing News
Search BoxingScene

>>>Advanced Search<<<

 Last update:  4/19/2011       Read more by Alexey Sukachev            &
Lebedev and Pirog Grab Top Honors at PBFR Awards
Mobile Version Share Click Here To Email   Search BoxingScene Database 

By Alexey Sukachev

Following a lengthy voting period for the online fans of the sport, the Professional Boxing Federation of Russia has finally announced its prize-winners for the year of 2010. The results were a bit surprising but it’s necessary to note that fans’ opinions were also taken into account, which has radically changed an entire landscape of preferences.

“The Fighter of the Year” prize was awarded to the WBO's #1 ranked cruiserweight, Denis Lebedev (21-1, 16 KOs), who is also the mandatory challenger to the title currently held by Germany's Marco Huck. Lebedev fought three times in 2010, getting two easy knockouts of Mexican Ignacio Esparza and fellow compatriot Alexander Alekseev before being defeated by Huck on a disputed split call in December.

Lebedev outscored the WBO middleweight champion Dmitry Pirog (18-0, 14 KOs), who produced a poster year in 2010, through the online voting: roughly 48% for Lebedev against 39% for Pirog. The only Russian world champion avenged this “loss” in another nomination. Pirog’s fifth-round TKO over American prospect Daniel Jacobs took the top honors as “The Fight of the Year” and outbid Lebedev for his split loss to Huck. Aslanbek Kozaev TKO 9 over Joaquim Carneiro was the third nominee. Online voting gave the edge to the Lebedev–Huck fight (34%). Pirog against Jacobs was a web runner-up with 25%.

Both Pirog and Lebedev were simultaneously awarded prizes for “The Best Knockout” of 2010. Pirog was honoured for his upset victory over Jacobs, while Lebedev impressed officials with his Tysonesque knockout of Alexander Alekseev (KO 2) in July. Ural Boxing Promotions got an edge over German Titov and Kirill Pchelnikov (GT & KP Boxing Promotions) as “The Promoter of The Year” in 2010.

Tags: Russia Boxing , Dmitry Pirog , Denis Lebedev

 User Comments and Feedback (must register to comment)

Post A Comment/View More User Comments (0) 

 Top Headlines
 MMA Headlines
 Related Articles
  Antonio Orozco-Humberto Soto Fi...
  Chavez Jr. Eyes Bute, Rosado, F...
  Brian Rose: I Promise You It Wi...
  Danny Garcia: No Worries on Mem...
  Golovkin-Lemieux: Jennings Reje...
  Stuart Hall Wants Second Crack ...
  Golovkin-Lemieux: Arroyo in Fro...
  Lee Vows 'Painful Lesson' For S...
  Yuriorkis Gamboa Eyes Lomachenk...
  Daniel Jacobs Expects The Norma...

 Latest Active Forum Threads
Latest Active Threads



Privacy Policy - Submit News - Feedback - Site Map - Advertise with Us

Copyright © 2003-2015 BoxingScene LLC. All rights reserved.