Advertisement
Advertisement
Boxingscene.com

Jose Martinez Tops Golden Boy on ESPN in Puerto Rico, March 24

Golden Boy Boxing on ESPN will return to the Island of Enchantment, Puerto Rico, as Jose "Chiquiro" Martinez (20-0-1, 13 KOs) makes the first defense of his NABO Super Flyweight Title in a 10-round rematch against Tijuana, Mexico's Alejandro "Peque" Santiago (15-2-3, 7 KOs) on Saturday, March 24 at Complejo Ferial de Puerto Rico in Ponce. Doors to the event open at 7:00 p.m. AST/6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT, and the first non-televised bout begins at 7:30 p.m. AST/6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT. ESPN and ESPN Deportes will air the fights beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET /5:30 p.m. PT. ESPN 3 will live stream the fights beginning at 8:00 p.m. AST/7:00 p.m. ET/4:00 p.m. PT.
 
Martinez captured the NABO 115-pound title by defeating Jesus Martinez with a vicious shot to the body in the main event of the Nov. 16 edition of Golden Boy Boxing ESPN in Cancun, Mexico. Martinez's record is unblemished except for a majority draw against Santiago himself, a decision that Martinez, the 25-year-old native of Las Marias, Puerto Rico, is eager to correct.
 
"I'm extremely happy and grateful to once again fight against Alejandro Santiago," said Jose Martinez. "I wanted this fight to get that thorn off my side and to show all of my people what I'm made of. I learned a lot from the first fight because it was so close. I'll walk away with the win by training hard and being in great condition."

jose-martinez
 
Santiago is a young fighter who has welcomed tough fights throughout his career. Though spending much of his time fighting at home in Tijuana, Mexico, the 21-year-old has twice gone to foreign territory in search of tough matchups. In 2016, Santiago fought to a split draw against then-undefeated Antonio Nieves in New York. Later that year, Santiago battled to a majority draw against Martinez, which he'll look to rectify win a victory in their rematch.
 
"I believe I won the first fight," said Alejandro Santiago. "It was a close fight, but this time there will be no doubts. I'm working really hard for this fight. I'm very motivated and I think that a victory will put me on the pathway to a world title. Martinez is a great fighter, and I know it will be a great fight. It'll be a fight between Mexico and Puerto Rico, which is always big for boxing."
 
In the televised co-main event, San Antonio's, Texas' Joshua "The Professor" Franco (13-0, 6 KOs) will return in his first 10-round fight against Lucas Fernandez (11-1-1, 8 KOs) of Santa Fe, Argentina. This super flyweight prospect's nickname comes from his skillful boxing style, which combines good defense and short punches to be effectively aggressive. Franco will inch closer to a regional title if successful in this match-up.
 
Danielito Zorrilla (4-0, 4 KOs), the rising super lightweight puncher of Toa Baja, Puerto Rico, will face Regino Canalas (6-6, 2 KOs) of Caguas, Puerto Rico in a six-round battle. Zachary Ochoa (18-1, 7 KOs) of Brooklyn, New York will return in a six-round super lightweight fight against Puerto Rico's Ryan Pino (7-1, 3 KOs). Ochoa will look to earn his third victory in a row after his first career loss.
 
Kevin Nieves (12-1, 5 KOs) of Comerio, Puerto Rico will return in a six-round lightweight clash against his compatriot Edgardi Rivera (7-5-2, 5 KOs), while Jose Bartelomei (4-0, 4 KOs) of Juana Diaz, Puerto Rico will participate in a four-round fight against Miguel Ortiz (3-24) in the 130-pound division.
 
Rashidi Ellis (18-0, 12 KOs) of Boston, Mass. will return in an eight-round welterweight fight. Juan Camacho (6-1, 5 KOs), who is also from Juana Diaz, will square off in super flyweight fight scheduled for four rounds. Edwin Valentin (3-0, 3 KOs)of Salinas, Puerto Rico will compete in a six-round bantamweight fight, while Josean Serra (11-1, 7 KOs) of Ponce, Puerto Rico will return in a six-round light flyweight bout to open the night of action.

Tags:
User Comments and Feedback (Register For Free To Comment) Comment by Pennsauken1 on 02-08-2018

Never heard of these guys, ESPN and Golden Boy are horrible, can’t get up for these fights

Post a Comment - View More User Comments (1)
Top Headlines Video: Brandon Rios Post-Fight Reaction To Knockout, More Video: Thurman, Porter Sit Down and Negotiate Rematch in Vegas Benavidez: I Was Told Gavril Suffered a Broken Jaw, Broken Nose Vincent Feigenbutz With Controversial TKO of Ryno Liebenberg Video: Angel Garcia Post-Fight Reaction To Rios Knockout, More Video: Danny Garcia Post-Fight Reaction To Rios Knockout, More Video: Keith Thurman, Shawn Porter- Confrontation in Las Vegas Photos: Danny Garcia, Shawn Porter - Face To Face, Trade Words Yordenis Ugas is Ready: I Want Errol Spence Next! Victor Ortiz Not Happy With Draw: I Did Enough To Win! Danny Garcia Drills a Very Game Brandon Rios in Ninth Danny Garcia vs. Brandon Rios - LIVE BoxingScene Scorecard David Benavidez Beats Down Ronald Gavril, Wins Decision David Benavidez vs. Ronald Gavril II - LIVE BoxingScene Scorecard Yordenis Ugas Stops Ray Robinson in Seven, Secures Spence Shot Devon Alexander, Victor Ortiz Battle To a Majority Draw Benavidez Intends to ‘Destroy’ Gavril, Solidify Spot in Division Caleb Plant Easily Out-Boxes ‘Porky’ Medina, Remains Unbeaten Danny Garcia vs. Brandon Rios - CompuBox Historical Review Eubank Jr: Did I Underestimate George Groves? Maybe. Hamed Rips Eubank Jr: He Should Retire, Not at Level He Thinks He Is! George Groves vs. Chris Eubank - CompuBox Punch Stats Danny Garcia vs. Brandon Rios - LIVE Results From Las Vegas George Groves Decisions a Bloody Chris Eubank Jr. George Groves vs. Chris Eubank - LIVE BoxingScene Scorecard Alexander: My Power Surprises People; Ortiz Will Be No Different Ronald Gavril: I'm a Smarter, Stronger Fighter Than Benavidez Sauerland: I Want To See Best Fighting The Best Every Year! Tony Bellew Sides With Groves, Dave Coldwell Picks Eubank Groves vs. Eubank - LIVE Results From Manchester Lolenga Mock vs. John Ryder in Play For April Otto Wallin vs. Adrian Granat Set for April 21 in Sweden Arum: Loma-Linares Fallout Proves Deceitful Nature of HBO! Groves vs. Eubank - CompuBox Historical Review George Groves vs. Chris Eubank Jr. - Stats & Stakes Photos: Ray Beltran Wins Bloody Fight With Moses For WBO Belt Eubank: I'm Willing To Die in The Ring To Win - Groves is Not! Golden Boy Prez: Arum Must Be Flexible To Make Loma-Linares Daily Bread Mailbag: Thurman-Crawford, Spence, Charlo, Golovkin Photos: Shakur Stevenson, Bryant Jennings, Kavaliauskas Win
Advertisement

Latest Active Forum Threads
Advertisement
Advertisement