Hearn: Gonzalez Blew His Shot, No Burns Rematch
By "Mr. Boxing" Giancarlo Oquendo
Promoter Eddie Hearn has made it clear that lightweight contender Jose "Chelo" González (22-1, 17KOs) had his chance on Saturday night, and blew it, and doesn't see any reason to grant him a rematch against WBO lightweight champion Ricky Burns (36-2, 11KOs). Gonzalez appeared to have swept the first seven rounds, and the judges had him up 87-84 as the tenth round was about to star, but the Puerto Rican boxer indicated that he injured his left writes and couldn't continue.
Hearn does not believe Gonzalez's reason for sitting it out on the stool. He says the boxer lost his heart after Burns stood up to him.
"He did not want to continue, and I believe he also injured his heart. He had his chance," expressed Hearn.
Now Burns could return to the ring in the month of September in Scotland, and IBF lightweight champion Miguel Vazquez has been mentioned as a possible opponent.
"Mr. Boxing" Giancarlo Oquendo is a TV Boxing Analyst and part of the podcast "Boxeo Estelar Radio." Follow him on Twitter @mrboxingtab
[QUOTE=BTTAG145;13369175]He ducked the Broner.[/QUOTE]You have the nerve to mention Broner who ducked an entire division to fight Pauli Pillowfists. Sorry to shoot you with your own gun.Comment by BTTAG145 on 05-14-2013
I expected that, Burns will go down as a supreme ducker and bum. He ducked the Broner fight and still almost lost but got lucky his man injured himself during the fight. Burns has no balls.Comment by richardt on 05-14-2013
Very simple to comprehend, like most guys with early KO's, Chelo came in, thought he could blow out Ricky and when Plan A didn't work and he was gassed, Ricky started landing head and body shots and turned the fight…Comment by richardt on 05-14-2013
[QUOTE=shoog;13367727]Ive never been impressed by burns, beating UK club fighters.[/QUOTE]Wow, great homework......and here I thought Rocky Martinez and Michael Katsidis were from the British isles. Yeah, that thick British accent Martinez has could fool anyone. Get a damn clue before…Comment by richardt on 05-14-2013
Anyone who says Chelo wasn't hurt by the punches or they weren't taking anything out of Chelo was not in that ring being hit. Burns landed plenty of punches and the injury happened at least 2 rounds AFTER Burns pressure…Post a Comment - View More User Comments (33)