Bookmark Website  | Free Registration  | The Team
Boxing Champions |  Boxing Schedule |  Boxing Video  |  Boxing History   |  Pound For Pound  | Lounge  | The Wire |  Audio  | Arcade

Navigation
Go Back   Boxing Forum > Boxing Forums > Training & Nutrition
Thread Navigation

Old 12-07-2011, 08:28 PM
outsidethebox
Amateur

Bank: 0.00
Total Points: 28,338.38
Default Long-term effects of boxing on hands and wrists?

[Background] Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to boxing, and I have a few questions for which hearing from a larger group of people would be helpful. I've done basic internet + forum searches, and browsed the most recent 50 pages of this sub-forum, but I apologize in advance if I ask any questions that have already been discussed to death.

[Question] There is a lot of info and discussion about the possible long-term effects of boxing on the brain. I'm wondering, instead, about the long-term effects of boxing on the HANDS and WRISTS. In the last few weeks, I've been experiencing some mild wrist discomfort after doing heavy hooks and uppercuts on the heavy bag.

I'm okay with short-term pain and discomfort as I build up strength and refine my technique (e.g. sore muscles and bruises). I'm NOT okay with destroying my hands over time and ending up with arthritis or permanently damaged hands as I get older. Does anyone know what kind of negative long-term effects boxing can have on the hands/wrists, and if so how to prevent these?
Advertisements
>>>TO REMOVE THESE ADS, PLEASE REGISTER HERE FOR FREE<<<
Old 12-07-2011, 10:05 PM
Uselesspoop
Amateur

Total Points: 2,562.33

i think the problem lies in the technique of the punches. My wrists get sore ( sometimes really sore to the extend i am unable to use it for daily tasks! ). i wear proper handwraps but it still hurts. it's probably because of how we throw the uppercuts and hooks.
Old 12-07-2011, 11:48 PM
-FLIP-
Contender