Bench press v. speed - Boxing Forum
Boxing Forum
Navigation
Go Back   Boxing Forum > Boxing Forums > Training & Nutrition

Old 03-04-2008, 09:50 PM #1
Contender

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sweet*science will become famous soon enoughsweet*science will become famous soon enough
Bank: 0.00
Total Points: 11,975.12
Send a message via AIM to sweet*science Send a message via Yahoo to sweet*science
Default Bench press v. speed

What's up guys?

I have been boxing for roughly six months. Before boxing I stayed in the gym and lifted heavily basically trying to bulk up. I stand at 5'9'' and fluctuate in weight between 166 and 170. I was maxing out on the bench at 205. My question is if I continue to lift heavily will it affect my hand speed? I want to have a more developed upper body but I am not sure if heavy lifting will benefit me in terms of a more developed frame while maintaining hand speed. What do you guys think?

Thanks
sweet*science is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisements
>>>TO REMOVE THESE ADS, PLEASE REGISTER HERE FOR FREE<<<
Old 03-04-2008, 11:52 PM #2
Amateur

mamoroso04 is just really nicemamoroso04 is just really nicemamoroso04 is just really nicemamoroso04 is just really nice
Total Points: 21,850.09
Send a message via AIM to mamoroso04

If you make the positive portion of your reps explosive and quick, and continue to do other speed training methods, I don't think it will slow you down at all. Before I started boxing I was a powerlifter and I don't feel that bench pressing had any effect on my hand speed.
mamoroso04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 12:00 AM #3
Contender

sweet*science will become famous soon enoughsweet*science will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to sweet*science Send a message via Yahoo to sweet*science