No announcement yet.

Alternative Training for Injured Knuckles

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternative Training for Injured Knuckles

Hi! I'm a beginner female boxer, and I am looking for alternative training routines while I'm resting my injured knuckles. My coach mainly focuses on punching bags so whenever I go to the gym I feel really demotivated as I can't punch or spar or do mitt work. The only things I do include jump rope for about 4 sets of 3 minutes, push ups (about 100 but 10-20 times each set), 3-4 sets of shadow boxing, sit ups, leg ups, and 10 sets of 20 reps of 1-2s with a resistance band tied to the ceiling. It has been like that for a week. Are there any routines that could help me with my footwork, strength, and power that don't involve my knuckles? Any routines that could be done in a boxing gym? Also, is using the resistance band this way effective? Are there other resistance band training that could help me with my power?

My coach doesn't do any footwork and it's starting to really frustrate me

There is a book call either Boxing or On Boxing by Edwin L Haislet. It was written in 1940, probably the best boxing instruction book written...Any way, you can find it on-line and it includes some very simple yet very effective footwork drills. It is very important to coordinate the movements of your hands and feet and these drills teach you how to do that. Also, there are some drills/exercises that will help improve your punching technique but don't involve you hitting anything.

Comment

Your training routine doesn't sound bad at all for a beginner. I personally think the best thing for you to train boxing while having injured knuckles is probably to do a lot of shadowboxing. Although weight/size is a factor, most power actually comes mainly from technique & speed, and shadowboxing will help improve both.