No announcement yet.

Shadow boxing with dumbbell / resistance band

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shadow boxing with dumbbell / resistance band

Hi all, i am a beginner in boxing, I found that some boxers perform shadow boxing may use a pair of light weight dumbbell (eg 1-2 pounds) or a boxing resistance band, wt is the different? Which one is much better for trainning, thanks : )

No more than one pound and never fully extend the arms.
    Keep your elbows down and learn to use your shoulders and back.
    The added weight can help you realize your shoulder & backs effectiveness.
    Once in a while they can be included in short road work sessions. Agin never extending the arms.
    Ray

Comment

Originally posted by Deslam724 View Post
      Hi all, i am a beginner in boxing, I found that some boxers perform shadow boxing may use a pair of light weight dumbbell (eg 1-2 pounds) or a boxing resistance band, wt is the different? Which one is much better for trainning, thanks : )
      It depends how strong you are start with light ones then work your way up as long as you stay in form,no reason not to try and work your way up as it will make wearing the actual boxing gloves seem much easier to throw faster punches ...you can extend your arms but be careful not to jerk awkwardly this helps build shoulder strength ,i myself use 8/9 pounders and it definitatly helps with speed when wearing 16 oz gloves my suggestion when you get accustomed to it start with the heaviest weight you can for a couple hundred punches then keep dropping down a pound or two .....the resistance bands are useful for developing power and strengthening the tendons ,do both .
      Last edited by juggernaut666; 04-15-2015, 12:36 PM.

Comment