Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Got rocked and concussed sparring without a mouthguard.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Got rocked and concussed sparring without a mouthguard.

I had been doing Muay Thai for about 3 months and I was participating in class when our instructor decided we were going to be sparring. He said 10% power. Nobody had head gear and I hadn't purchased a mouthpiece yet because I didn't know we were going to spar. My instructor was wearing those small fairtex bag gloves and rocked me really bad with a right hand. I didn't lose my feet but I felt wobbly on my way home and had a crashing headache and felt hungover the next day. 5 months later I have started sparring and getting ready to compete I am worried that there may be lasting effects and I may have a weak chin from that shot I took without a mouthguard. Has anyone had a similar experience and was your chin compromised?

Look the brain can recover from trauma as long as it isn't exposed to it repeatedly soon after.

You should be fine. Ive been knocked unconscious before, (king hit/kicked in the head in the street while extremely drunk) and recently started sparring again

i ate a few big flush shots without headgear, and took them fine. was a little buzzed but they were clean hard shots from good punchers.

Anyway sparring without a mouthguard is lunacy dont do that again. Prferably use headgear too.

Comment

I've been in over 30 amateur fights and never been dropped, in my first sparring session vs a bigger guy I got rocked by a jab; yes a jab and I didn't show it. You can get caught clean, don't worry about and keep your chin tucked in. If you keep getting rocked regularly then you may be packing some glass but there's only one way to find out.

Comment

Any place that allows you to spar with no headgear and no mouthpiece sounds like a hackjob off the top, sorry.