Boxing gyms and gloves

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Boxing gyms and gloves

Hi Guys,

I've been boxing now for about three months mainly at home and with friends. I have got to the point now where I really want to progress in the sport with the aim of having a few amatuer bouts. Which means I need to join a gym and get training.

One thing tho, what do I expect when I get there. Having never been to a boxing gym before is it like going down a normal gym where you turn up and get on with your own stuff? What happens? I'm going to join anyhow but want to be prepared and know what to expect when I get there.

Also, I bought some Lonsdale 14oz gloves in the sale when I started and they only cost me £8 reduced from £30. But they're crap and have split within about three hard sessions on the heavy bag. Has anybody got any recomendations on what would be the best gloves to replace them with? Don't mind spending up to about £60.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

firstly, i wouldnt worry about buying gloves just yet, most gyms provide these for free
    When you get to the gym your trainer will fill you in on exactly how their gym works. Expect to have a work out routine that has multiple stations around the gym. Each station lasts for 2 or 3 minutes usualy and theyr seperated by about 30sec. Some examples of stations would be; the heavy bag, speed bag, double ended..bag, jump rope. Expect to do about 3 sets

Comment

just call up your local gym and ask em all questions you have on the phone. simple as that...

Comment

Originally posted by sambfc View Post
        Hi Guys,

I've been boxing now for about three months mainly at home and with friends. I have got to the point now where I really want to progress in the sport with the aim of having a few amatuer bouts. Which means I need to join a gym and get training.