Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Loaded left hook, hips and foot doesn't align, how do I fix it?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loaded left hook, hips and foot doesn't align, how do I fix it?

I have a boxing stance where both my toes point to the right.

I use the foot twist method, where my foot pivots all the way around, I know the pros stay rooted but im a beginner and I need to do it this way till ive mastered it.

On every punch my hip and foot stay in perfect alignment with each other....

....except for the loaded left hook, the loaded left hook is the left hook that follows after a right cross , the right cross almost puts you in the opposite stance and you come back with a massive left hook.

The problem is my left foot stays where it is but my hips turn all the way around on the right cross, so now on the loaded left hook my foot is near the finish position but my hip is all teh way back at the start position....

...So when I bring the hip around the leg doesn't come around with it simultaneously and in alignment like it does with every other punch.

(I still get power, im using my hip all the way but the form is off because the leg doesn't move with the hip at the same time, which makes using the extra power of leg drive on a loaded left hook very hard to do)

Is this normal?

How do I fix it?
    Last edited by AlexKid; 05-29-2016, 09:03 PM.

Not sure I fully understand but it just sounds like your balance and foot placement is just bad....

I envision what you said as one of two ways... You're throwing the right too long and thus turning your body too far and trying to compensate with your hip when in actuality the right hand should be thrown and you should be using the same motion (not just hips but upper body! so you pull the left shoulder back too instead of keeping it static and misaligned with your body) to crank the left hook.. Your right hand is cranking the left hand and disguising the tells.