First sparring session

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First sparring session

Hi,

This is my first time posting here but today I wanted to ask for some advice from my first sparring session. Before I talk about that though I would like to say that I train 3 times a week and my coach says I have good form hitting the bags and throwing combos. On Friday I came to class and there was another guy there named Jeff. Coach pulled us aside and asked us if we wanted to sparr each other so we both accepted as it was going to be both our first times sparring. I'm 16 and weigh 154 pounds and Jeff is 32 and weighs a little bit more than me. We had both been coming in for 3 months except he has been doing many private sessions with my coach while I just attended the classes. Long story short we sparred and he beat me pretty bad. I talked to the coach afterwards and he said that I pretty much forgot everything I'd been working on but not to worry about it because he was a lot older than me and that no one really does good their first sparring match. Is this all normal? Thank you for your advice in advance.

Mate, first up sparring shouldn't be a competition. It should be controlled and you should never get "beaten pretty bad" in your first or even first 20 sparring sessions (if any). You're supposed to be learning to apply what you have been practicing in the gym. Not fighting against an opponent who is heavier and more experienced than you are.