Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So I'm Overqualified For All The Jobs I Applied To?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [PLEASE HELP] So I'm Overqualified For All The Jobs I Applied To?

So as many of you know I got the shaft from my last job and been on the grind for a new job and even considering much lower pay for a job locally close by.

I applied and got about 5 interviews since then. All of the interviews went really well. I am good at interviewing mostly because I've been on the other side of interviewing cause of my management experience for the last 9 years or so.

I've been in senior management level for about the last 7 years and I've been making a good six figure salary for the last several years.

So basically all of the recruiters, HR and managers who call me in for an interview are blown away by my resume, and how well I do in the interview process so much so that they either decide to not hire due to me being too over qualified, maybe cause they assume that their salary is too low or I'd leave as soon as a better job hires me, or that I might steal their job or their next promotion?

I keep telling them that I want a complete career change and if that involves them paying me at entry level pay then thats fine, but they seem to not believe me and basically give me the boot.

But why even call me in if you are going to do that? or Why have me sit there for like 4 hours meeting with 3 of their managers eating up a whole day of their work day?

What would you guys do if you were in my shoes? I mean it seems I'm pretty much at a disadvantage because of my resume and past experience. One of the recruiters even told me that her own husband was in the same boat and his resume would scare off everyone as well.

Some of my friends are telling me to dumb down my resume and interview and not speak so well when interviewing? I'm like WHAT?