Dreams of being the Champ

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dreams of being the Champ

Hello guys,
    I am 21 years old, and have the fire in my heart to be a boxer.

My dream is to be the best and to train hard to get there.

My problem is i have no trainer and no guidance and i'm new to the sport.

I have always been a natural athlete and won rewards for wrestling and football while i was in high school.

I am.
    205 pounds ( not fat tho, people say my weight and appearance is deceiving )
    5 foot 8 inches without shoes

I would like to ask for help, because i am serious and faithful at wanting to be the champ someday.
    Could someone give me advice on how to start off and how to go about this.
    I'm willing to do anything and follow orders.

Thank you for your time!
    Last edited by Jmccorkle1222; 02-21-2011, 04:05 PM.

205 pounds and not fat? Do you lift a lot? If so that's bad for boxing as your just creating mass and slowing yourself down sadly.

Comment

Bad? Well i hope i can cut weight.

I don't lift alot, ive always had solid muscle, but i am not slow. Used to be a running back and had the same weight, first string and could plow people down and out run safety's. Alot of the muscle is in my legs and chest. What can i do? Could i cut 10 pounds and do light heavy weight?

Comment

Originally posted by Jmccorkle1222 View Post
        Bad? Well i hope i can cut weight.

I don't lift alot, ive always had solid muscle, but i am not slow. Used to be a running back and had the same weight, first string and could plow people down and out run safety's. Alot of the muscle is in my legs and chest. What can i do? Could i cut 10 pounds and do light heavy weight?
        At 5'8 you will get absolutely murdered if you fight above 178. That's just a huge physical disadvantage for a boxer.

Go get your bodyfat tested, because my guess is that you actually are fat enough to cut to 178 or lower.