Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm not really good at maths so help me out.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm not really good at maths so help me out.

When talking about a potential GGG-Hopkins fight this is what Loeffler said.

Loeffler explained- "I've always said if there's a middleweight champion willing to fight him, it's always going to be the priority. If (Billy Joe) Saunders isn't going to fight, if 'Canelo's (Saul Alvarez) is not going to fight, we would consider a marketable name at 168 and Hopkins, is more active than (Andre) Ward is, so it makes sense.

http://www.boxingscene.com/golovkins...-fight--101143

Ward's longest layoff was from 11/2013-6/2015, nineteen months

Hopkins hasn't fought since 11/2014

Ward fought in June of 2015 and is fighting this year in March. That's two fights within a year.

GGG is fighting in late April this year. A fight with Hopkins would have to happen in July. That would mean Hopkins would have been inactive for twenty months.

At the end of the article Steve Kim shows his bias by pointing out Hopkins has fought four times since 2013 and Ward has fought twice since 2013. Once you factor in Ward's next fight he would have fought three times since 2013. And since he's getting another tune-up before the Kovalev fight later this year that means he would've fought four times since 2013. The same as Hopkins.

How is Hopkins more active than Ward?

It's not calculus folks.

Comment

I'm waiting for your thread where you try to prove that Ward's not a clincher.

Comment

Originally posted by j0zef View Post
        I'm waiting for your thread where you try to prove that Ward's not a clincher.

Comment

Shouldn't we consider age in this equation?

Originally posted by about.thousands View Post