Originally Posted by PBP
Where does it say you have to be up at 8? The highlighted part sure doesn't.
Yes but the implication in those rules reads that if the fighter isnt up by 8, or the 8-count, then the referee has every right to stop the fight out of suspicion of the boxers state. It reads that the boxer should be up by 8, and anything after is then up to the referees discretion. It's one of the many technicalities you'll find in Governing body rules, they deliberately keep these grey areas to void liability