Join Date: Jan 2013
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Rep Power: 10
Total Points: 758,192.26
The injury came from a headbutt which is an illegal blow - if the fight continued then Salido would target the injury which came from the illegal blow and have an unfair advantage, possibly even winning the fight.
The rule is there for this very reason - if an injury occurs from an accidental headbutt then the fight goes to the scorecards. If it had happened from a punch then the fight would have probably continued. Just keep in mind that it was a headbutt which caused the injury, not a punch.