Thread: 115-113 Really?
View Single Post
#22
Old 12-18-2011, 12:12 PM
!! Anorak
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Points: 0
Bank: 0
Total Points: 0
Default

Some rounds were arguably close (such as the last two when Ward began to tire and spoil) and Carl maybe nicked the odd one here and there, but to give him five rounds you'd have to award every even remotely close round to Froch. The probability of someone seeing five vaguely close rounds and awarding all five to one boxer is quite high. The probability of TWO people doing it is even higher.

I wasn't keeping an accurate score of my own last night, I was too engrossed, but I gave Carl something like 2 or 3, maybe four at best. It's funny to laugh at those judges, but if Carl had won one of the Ward rounds clearly then it would have been scored a majority draw and he would have retained his title.

Quite apart from the fact that they'd have had to have sawn the trophy in half, it's shocking when you think about that.
Reply With Quote