Help with gloves for newbie....

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with gloves for newbie....

Hi

I am new to boxing training and have just started the gym. I have been using an old set of gloves that have been lying around in the gym that don't feel very good.

I am wanting to buy some gloves that give me the protection I need..

I am 5'11 and weigh 177ilbs, 29years old.

I will be doing mainly bag/pad work 2-3 hours per week with maybe 30 mins sparring a week.

Do I need two sets of gloves, for example a 16oz for sparring and a lighter 12oz for bag/pad?

Or do I just buy a set of 16oz training gloves such as the Ringside Pro training glove and use it for everything.

Is there any advantages or disadvantages of having a lighter set of gloves for bag/pad work.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, thanks

Lemarr ultimate pro Mk2 are THE best quality glove on the market for the money.
    Far better than Rival, Ringside and every bit as good as Grant, Reyes & the likes for a hell of a lot less.
    I can not state how highly I rate these gloves after spending years using Grant, Reyes, Rival & other brands not worth half of the ridiculous pricetag.

They offer superb protection to the hands & wrist, quality fit and built to last.

Check the reviews here & ignore the retail price, they can be found as cheap as £50

http://www.boxingcapital.com/article...xing-Equipment

Comment

THey should provide gloves for sparring. If not get 2 pairs, because hitting the bag will "flatten" the padding(don't really know how to explain this) and not give much protection. They will kind of lose the padding in a sense in the knuckle area. Sparring gloves should be 16oz or more.
      You would want something around 14oz for the bag gloves though.

Comment

So I would need to pairs I gather? Seems a little waste as only sparring 30mins a week. And only 2oz in them.