No announcement yet.

Improving footwork in the ring

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Improving footwork in the ring

Hi boys and girls - first post here after reading other excellent posts in this section. The boxing community is a friendly bunch I have to admit.

Anyway...on with the question -
    I've been boxing for around 4 months and getting better and love it.

Sparring is by far my favourite part but I find I'm being hit too often as my feet feel heavy. I can see the shots coming but by the time i've moved i've already been tagged.

Do any of you boxers have advice for being lighter on my feet and able to get out the way of attacks? I'm not gonna be bouncing around the ring too much, im 6ft 2 and over 16 stone/around 230lbs. I can definitely feel my Christmas diet have an impact so losing a bit of weight is a good start…This is something I don't have a problem with, I can do that part easily enough.

Fitness is also key too.

I know other areas of defence would help, but this is specifically aimed at improving my footwork and being lighter/quicker around the ring.

Gracias amigos.

I'm not an expert on this, but I feel like some guys know how to move in the ring, other guys don't. It's almost like having rhythm or knowing how to dance...some can, others can't no matter how much they train and they're forced to adapt their style around this limitation. Would be interested to know if others agree with this.

Comment

For me it's mostly about foot coordination, if you know where your feet are going and know when and how to plant them (when throwing a punch) a without really thinking about it you'll be able to circle around the ring better regardless of how heavy you are

I agree with mconstantine that it's like knowing how to dance, I've seen plenty of latino trainer incorporate dance moves into their training instructions...cotto did it when he worked with steward and I remember holyfield also doing it

Comment