View Full Version : I want to gain weight; but not seeing the results

moneymayforever
07-13-2011, 02:27 AM
I've always been skinny as hell, 8 months ago before I started boxing I always wated to stay skinny for some strange reason, I was 5'8 and 49kg, at 108 lbs. But after I started training, I started lifting weights since my chairman told me I was too skinny. At first all I could lift was 5 kg dumbells, but now I could lift a 12~16kg barbell and maximum of 10 kg dumbells (sorry I'm Japanese so it's hard for me to use lbs :P) and finally reached to my current weight of 55kg at 121 lbs. But recently now matter how much I work out, I can't get past 121, I want to get it to at least 60 kg at 132lbs. My workout basically repeats like Day 1, Upper body, Day 2, Lower body, and it repeats like that. I went to the States for a week or two for a little vacation; my hotel had a fitness gym so that was good; and ate LOTS of junk food; still I'm not gaining weight. I'm 15 years old and I'm a high school freshman, if there are anyone who is familiar with this topic, it would mean a lot to me if you guys shared some of your knowledge with me.

Rip Chudd
07-13-2011, 02:35 AM
How much protein are you getting daily? I too am a person who finds it difficult to put on weight. Not until I started drinking protein shakes coupled with my continued workouts was I able to finally put weight on. You should be taking in 1 gram of protein for each pound you weight. So for me now 230 pounds=230 grams of protein. I recommend whey protein for lean muscle. Not saying that this is the answer to your problem but it worked for me. It may work for you as well.

Jack3d
07-13-2011, 02:46 AM
Worry less about how much weight you are lifting and what your routine looks like, and worry more about your calorie intake.

If you wanna get big and gain weight, you have to eat. Period. There is no other way around it. Eat, Eat, Eat. And you'll get big. Lots of Protein, lots of Carbs....lots of calories.