View Full Version : Roy Jones recent training

cantbestopped
04-28-2011, 07:13 PM
I am new to boxing and just started shadowboxing, in this video jones is shadowboxing but he is shadowboxing to the beats of the music, not going for power or anything, is this how shadowboxing should be for beginners or is this for advance boxers?

<iframe width="640" height="510" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/S2Fi-owxx44" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Maxgaggi
04-28-2011, 08:41 PM
Usually pro fighters shadow boxing is light, as they stress their body so much during physical training. Thereīs no need to push it that much during shadow boxing. So what they do is imagine a "slower" and more relaxed version of his opponent infront of them and work more on vision, foot movement and technique. Many of them donīt even throwgh punches out properly almost as a mimic of the actual punch.
During your shadow boxing workout I would go harder than they do, as you will be using it as a cardio training at your level, same for me as Iīm an amateur.

cantbestopped
04-29-2011, 01:37 AM
hi good reply, if I do the same routine but with light dumbells like 3 pounder would that work? I tried it and after few rounds ai felt a burn because im not used to doing it im new to boxing training

TheHolyCross
04-29-2011, 04:38 AM
he's working on footwork in that video and it's definitely a beginner thing, this is how you shadowbox
<iframe width="425" height="349" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JbRykf-5Zo8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

rockymarciano1
04-29-2011, 06:34 AM
hi good reply, if I do the same routine but with light dumbells like 3 pounder would that work? I tried it and after few rounds ai felt a burn because im not used to doing it im new to boxing training

I heard that using dumbells while shadow boxing cans damage your rotator cuffs and possibly tear ligaments. Resistance bands would probably be the safer Option, or wear gloves while shadow boxing.

The Boxing Snob