View Full Version : Left hooks to the head

.Go To Sleep.
08-13-2005, 03:26 AM
Bare with me, I'm very new to boxing. I'm an orthadox fighter, first off. I just need some help with high left hooks.

When I throw them, should my forearm be completely horizontal. Cuz right now my arm is slightly tilted uprwards. Not enough to be an uppercut, because it still comes from the side. Is it ok to throw hooks like this- not having your forearm completely horizontal?

Sorry if I explained this badly.

Tony Blitz
08-13-2005, 04:26 AM
Bare with me, I'm very new to boxing. I'm an orthadox fighter, first off. I just need some help with high left hooks.

When I throw them, should my forearm be completely horizontal. Cuz right now my arm is slightly tilted uprwards. Not enough to be an uppercut, because it still comes from the side. Is it ok to throw hooks like this- not having your forearm completely horizontal?

Sorry if I explained this badly.
http://myspace-133.vo.llnwd.net/00146/33/18/146358133_l.gif
it sure is!

.Go To Sleep.
08-13-2005, 04:39 AM
Hmmm... that really looks more like a shovel hook.

Hunna
08-13-2005, 05:17 AM
Hmmm... that really looks more like a shovel hook.

hahah like the terminology...... try throw ya hook from ya hips, legs, ya feet and shoulders cos its all a transfer of power. visual it and it should come off.

ricecrispi
08-13-2005, 05:40 AM
Starting out you should use the correct techinique for a hook. If you can't get the basic form of a hook you will develop a sloppy one or a bad one. In the end it doesn't matter as long as you hit the guy and have some power on it. You still want a good hook but if you can't get it down work on another punch.