View Full Version : Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Where do you rate him?

Barnburner
08-10-2010, 05:57 PM
I believe Hagler was an excellent fighter who I would rank anywhere between 30-15 on an all time greatest list.
I don't see why a lot of people on the forum put Sugar Ray Leonard above him on a Pound for Pound list?
Hagler has had more fights, did everything the hard way, never backed down from anyone etc.
I'm new to boxing so if any of my statements are wrong please correct me and notify me why.
Some people are also mentioning Hagler ducked Qawi and Spinks?
Spinks was in a much higher weight class and Hagler was a small Middleweight and Qawi was not as good as the opposition out there to face.
And don't get me started on Mike Mcallum :nono:

D-MiZe
08-10-2010, 05:57 PM
SRL's p4p achievements are better than Hagler's.

sonnyboyx2
08-11-2010, 01:48 AM
I believe Hagler was an excellent fighter who I would rank anywhere between 30-15 on an all time greatest list.
I don't see why a lot of people on the forum put Sugar Ray Leonard above him on a Pound for Pound list?
Hagler has had more fights, did everything the hard way, never backed down from anyone etc.
I'm new to boxing so if any of my statements are wrong please correct me and notify me why.
Spinks was in a much higher weight class and Hagler was a small Middleweight and Qawi was not as good as the opposition out there to face.

Qawi was far better than the opposition out there..

Hagler just about makes the Top 10 IMO

Toney616
08-11-2010, 03:37 PM
What do you mean?

Barnburner
08-11-2010, 04:25 PM
What do you mean?
Mike Mcallum claims Hagler ducked him.
For one Mccallum only got his first championship belt at junior middleweight in 1984 a year before Hagler retired. When Hagler retired he was at something like 24-0 so he was just a young prospect at that point. At that point Hagler had just fought Mugabe, Leonard and Hearns whom were way tougher than Mccallum at that point in his career.

boxing boy