View Full Version : I just sparred a friend of mine...

~BoZz~
07-16-2010, 08:25 AM
He does that tae kwan do stuff

Ive been boxing for 8 years now and he suggested that we should go all out so that we could see who will have the upper hand (foot)
I had no chance to come even close his legs were just too damaging and the reach advantage was crazy.

Is there any way i could improve in closing the gap so that i could start hitting him with some nice hard shots to the head?

Yael The Great
07-16-2010, 09:22 AM

Ive been boxing for 8 years now and he suggested that we should go all out so that we could see who will have the upper hand (foot)
I had no chance to come even close his legs were just too damaging and the reach advantage was crazy.

Is there any way i could improve in closing the gap so that i could start hitting him with some nice hard shots to the head?

Kick him in the leg with your lead foot and plant it after you land so you could be close to him.

dr.x
07-16-2010, 09:39 AM

I once sparred with my friend who does karate , it seemed very difficult to out box him , as I usualy do with the amateurs in boxing .
the easiest way to beat him is to be fast and get inside while you're protecting yourself , and being ready to be hit with a kick while getting in . once you're inside,his legs are useless and his hand technique are poor , you can hit him easily .

shogunn
07-16-2010, 11:10 AM
if your friend is smart, he wouldnt let your fists get anywhere near him and keep attacking with his legs for the longer reach.

Your only hope is to make him miss when he kicks and step inside. Thats when youll have the upperbody advantage, unless he's really good at that too.

Sugarj
07-16-2010, 11:56 AM
Ha ha, it was actually boxing that got me out of martial arts!