View Full Version : Gonna start running.

yodamann
07-07-2010, 05:47 PM
'Ello, everyone. I'm a running newbie, so I have no idea how long and/or far I should run. I'm 5'10, and I weigh 151.4 lbs.

Squirrel
07-07-2010, 06:12 PM
What are your goals for this running?

Sam Donald
07-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Start off short and see how it is

Your too vague

yodamann
07-07-2010, 06:19 PM
What are your goals for this running?

Endurance.

And I plan on joinin' a boxing gym sometime next month so...yeah.

Sam Donald
07-07-2010, 06:32 PM
Endurance.

And I plan on joinin' a boxing gym sometime next month so...yeah.

O cool - its good that your gonna run a month before.

Just see what you can do right now. Try set a reasonable target from your house to somewhere. See how you feel, time it etc

It will fall in place

Have your long term target at 3miles from your house

Start off small

Cleaning up ur diet helps as well

good luck

Uturn
07-07-2010, 06:39 PM
Gradually build up on your stamina. No point in going all out and running a stupid amount of miles when your body is up to it. Slow pace, chin up, see how you feel after you done a mile or two.

yodamann
07-07-2010, 06:41 PM
O cool - its good that your gonna run a month before.

Just see what you can do right now. Try set a reasonable target from your house to somewhere. See how you feel, time it etc

It will fall in place

Have your long term target at 3miles from your house

Start off small

Cleaning up ur diet helps as well

good luck

Thanks! :D

There's a park about 1/2 a mile away, would that be a reasonable target or should I aim for a farther/shorter distance??

yodamann
07-07-2010, 06:45 PM
Gradually build up on your stamina. No point in going all out and running a stupid amount of miles when your body is up to it. Slow pace, chin up, see how you feel after you done a mile or two.

Thanks for the advice~ :D

Jakutindi Wauya
07-07-2010, 09:17 PM