View Full Version : Hard drives in Ps3's


msagrain
02-20-2010, 03:40 PM
Could I fit this hard drive in my Ps3?
Link to the hard drive (http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/4-/8849801/Western-Digital-Caviar-Green-WD10EVDS-1TB-3-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive/Product.html)

Left2body
02-20-2010, 04:12 PM
No that harddrive wont fit. It is 3.5", you will need 2.5"

This HD from the same site is compatible:
http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2148/1415/-/7523847/Western-Digital-Scorpio-Blue-WD5000BEVT-500GB-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive/Product.html?searchtype=genre

Just a little note here; you'll usually find PS3 compatible Harddrives in the laptop harddrive sections.

- v e t -
02-20-2010, 04:18 PM
No that harddrive wont fit. It is 3.5", you will need 2.5"

This HD from the same site is compatible:
http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2148/1415/-/7523847/Western-Digital-Scorpio-Blue-WD5000BEVT-500GB-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive/Product.html?searchtype=genre

Just a little note here; you'll usually find PS3 compatible Harddrives in the laptop harddrive sections.

yep

mostly any 2.5" SATA laptop HDD will work

i'd go with a 7200rpm vs 5400rpm, but if you still opt for 5400 you wont be missing anything, i believe that is what they come stock with

msagrain
02-20-2010, 04:19 PM
No that harddrive wont fit. It is 3.5", you will need 2.5"

This HD from the same site is compatible:
http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/2148/1415/-/7523847/Western-Digital-Scorpio-Blue-WD5000BEVT-500GB-2-5-Internal-SATA-Hard-Drive/Product.html?searchtype=genre

Just a little note here; you'll usually find PS3 compatible Harddrives in the laptop harddrive sections.

wtf were you going on about in the other thread? Ain't 2.5 limited to 500gb?

Azza!
02-20-2010, 04:21 PM
You don't know your arse from your elbow how you gonna fit a ****ing hard drive Andy? :luvbed:

msagrain
02-20-2010, 04:25 PM
You don't know your arse from your elbow how you gonna fit a ****ing hard drive Andy? :luvbed:

Hmmmm Just considering it. Not a ****ing clue tho.:drive:

Left2body
02-20-2010, 04:27 PM
wtf were you going on about in the other thread? Ain't 2.5 limited to 500gb?

No your wrong about that. Maybe the site(s) you visited only go to 500gb but there are larger size HD's at 2.5"

i.e.
http://www.misco.co.uk/applications/searchtools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=389693&Tab=2&NoMapp=0

Left2body
02-20-2010, 04:29 PM
Hmmmm Just considering it. Not a ****ing clue tho.:drive:

Nothing to it really. There are actually instructions to switching HD's in your PS3 manual. It is really quite simple. The one caveat I would put is that you use appropriately sized screw drivers. The screws on the HD tray are easily stripped.

msagrain
02-20-2010, 04:36 PM
Is this one any good?
http://www.misco.co.uk/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=290031&CatId=3097

713832281
02-20-2010, 04:41 PM
that first will work it just wont fit inside your ps3. ive seen youtube videos where they use 3.5 hdd inside and just use some kind of ribbon cable to hook up the hdd.

edit: i just noticed the ts asked if it will fit inside the ps3. sorry.