View Full Version : Complete beginner - Any tips?

trevez
09-28-2009, 10:56 AM
Hi all,

Im Trev, 23 from UK. Just about to go to my first circuit training boxing class. I weigh about 14st and im 5ft 6'. So you can prob tell im overweight!

The main reason for starting was to lose weight but i really love the boxing side.

Now as a complete 100% beginner..where do i start??
do i keep turning up to the classes (3times a week) or join into the proper boxing class? i do need to get the weight off and then tone up.

Are there any good websites anyone can recommend to buy kit from?
or shops in the UK?

thanks for reading
Trev

JayCoe
09-28-2009, 12:26 PM
Overweight but not necessarily fat. If you consider that you need to cut a lot of fat then PERSONALLY i'd say;

Forget about lbs, get a body fat % scale which are only about 20 from Argos, and keep record of your body fat. Go to the circuit trainings, 3 times a week, and train at home an additional 2 times a week. Get your body-fat to a MAXIMUM of 18% and radically increase your fitness. Then consider joining a boxing club.

Boxing is incredibly tough, you have to be incredibly fit just to do a regular session. I wouldn't say it's a good idea to just join off the cuff when you wouldn't consider yourself at least "moderately fit" and certainly not if you feel you need to attain levels of fitness and lose real levels of weight.

When in boxing the intense exercise will further cut body fat and you'll probably find yourself maintaining around 12%, on a standard. I'm sure many people on this board have higher or lower % than that but I'm just working off my % and what other's around me tend to roughly be while just training.