View Full Version : getting back into it

monsterandmachine
03-11-2005, 04:25 PM
I used to box and to martial arts but I stopped about 5 years ago. I stopped working out too. I walk several miles a day though. I am 24, about 6' and 170 lbs. I am pretty lean everywhere except my stomach is a little bit bigger than it used to be.

I just bought a weight bench and I started lifting again. Basically, I want to bulk up a bit, but I want to look lean, expecially in my stomach. I am a little confused as to what kind of workout routine and what exercises I should be doing. I would like to get my weight up to about 180-190 lbs. Can someone suggest a routine for building some mass but keeping lean, with only home gym equipment? Also, what I have right now is a bench that inclines and has leg extendors, a barbell, some dumbells, and some iron weights. Is there anything else for home gym equipment that I should get? Thanks...trying to piece all this together is pretty overwhelming and I woulod rather get the advice from people who knows more about it than I do.

XionComrade
03-11-2005, 05:50 PM
Personally to burn fat I do about 50-100reps of squats or leg extensions, gotta buildup the leg muscles though, the bigger they are when you do that the beter it will burn fat! Just remember it is impossible to burn fat just from one part of your body, oh yeah, stop walking and start running for one :P :boxing:

monsterandmachine
03-11-2005, 10:31 PM
yeah I will start running. I normally do, but it is very icy here in the winter. I walk VERY fast though...
What kind of work-out routine should I be doinbg ie: excercises, body parts on each day etc...???

Cre_Ace
03-13-2005, 12:11 AM
Alot of boxers have a bibble routine, but all I need to do is Jog, lift 15 pound weights 4x50 in both arms, I do diamond push-ups, and 100 sit ups every 2 days, when all the parts stop hurting, I do all that again. simple.

Tha Greatest
03-13-2005, 12:19 AM