View Full Version : what do u think about when sparring?

Gio
02-28-2005, 10:00 PM
Since I'm pretty new here let me give u some info about my background. I'm 22, 5'9 & 154 #'s. I've been trainning for only 8 months & loving it.

I go to my local gym 3 times a week. I also attend a boxing program @ my school; mostly for conditioning & extra sparring.

The class has a handfull of fat kid; which is cool with me, at least their trying. And a handful of punks thinking their "hard".

Today @ school we were doing very light sparring, jabs only & I was just trying to throw them off ass much as I could.

I was looking at mid torso and tagging the punks right in the face. I guess cause I was looking closer to their gut they thought I was going to him em there.

I would look down snap @ the head, and then throw a nice one back down to the gut.

This worked on almost everyone I tried it on. Now I know these guy haven't been boxing 4 more than a month, but f*#k it, some of these guys think their Billy Badass or something.

Since I've been watching everyone in class I knew if they were sluggers, aggresors, or trying to really box.

I usually just try to counter the power punches to make them realise that their gonna pay every time they let lose.

But what do u guys think about?

DrDac
02-28-2005, 10:17 PM
Hey now, your doing pretty good you discovered a sort of feinting on your own, with the tricking your opponent to think your going to throw where you want him to think.

Don't regret having to box the fellas that are worse than you, I used to feel this way too. As if they were just a waste of time, but then started to incorporate rounds with the less experienced boxers focusing predominantly on a specific goal: fighting on the ropes, new defensive styles, and my newest quest of turning southpaw mid-round.