View Full Version : footwork

Juof
10-23-2008, 12:59 PM
ok so ive been boxing for about 8 months now and have a fight coming up next month i am 6ft 4 and weight 73kg and i have fast hands but one thing i really lack is my footwork theres a kid in the gym whos footwork is really good and i want to have footwork like it

also would you say i train enough
i skip 30 mins a day
i run about 2 miles a day
and i go to boxing gym 4 days a week for 2 hours
when i get home i shadow box for a hour
i do my sit ups and push ups in the morining
i just turned 17 and i know iv'e started late but its a sport i love doing also how could i get mentally prepared for my fight as i know i will be nervous a few days before the fight

many thanks jamie.

Nacho_Analstain
10-23-2008, 01:01 PM
I got good footwork by jumping off a huge bridge with my feet tied together.

Do it you dirty whore! DO IT!

Sorry.

Juof
10-23-2008, 01:03 PM
:P seriously though i need some footwork drills as my footwork sucks

Oriachim
10-23-2008, 01:06 PM
You'll never get good foot work by shadow boxing the incorrect way, so best bet is to ask your coach on his 2cs of your footwork and then work on it. My mate said a good way is to tie a rope to both legs a certain distance, then move about.

BennyST
10-25-2008, 01:44 AM
Yeah, get your basic footwork drills from your coach or whatever you've been doing already and start focusing on building up your side to side and turning movements. Use the heavybag as an opponent and practice spinning and turning as well as lateral movement.

Just remember that you should never cross your feet. Always move first with the foot that is closest to the direction you're moving in. If you don't it will slow you down a lot. Also do some skipping with ankle weights with very busy footwork routine. You can also do your basic footwork with said ankle weights. Focus on speed of your movement and balance while keeping your guard up.

ironalex
10-26-2008, 11:36 AM