View Full Version : Weight Training for Boxing

mamoroso04
02-25-2008, 09:51 PM
Before I started boxing I had an impressive list of powerlifting accomplishments, but I hated doing it and I wanted to do something I liked, being boxing. I don't want to stop training with heavy weights all together as part of my routine. So I was just wondering what everyone else did with weights as a part of their regimen, or if they use weights at all. Thanks.

TexasTitan
02-25-2008, 09:59 PM
I was a buody builder before I got back into boxing. honestly, you wont be touching weights for a while. I only do things with 3 pounders and light deadlifts and pull ups now.

Youll be shocked at how much strength you maintain tho.

Domey
02-25-2008, 10:25 PM
With boxing you'll want to do light weights, with high repititions. Reason being you dont want to be big and bulky. You just want to make your muscles more solid.

If you're big and bulky, your arms are forced to be further away from your body, which leaves you very vulnerable, along with speed factor.

Also muscle weighs more then fat as you know, so you'll have a harder time losing weight.

I would only lift weights, as in medium to heavy weights if I were in a big weight division. Personally I fight at featherweight / lightweight. So weights arnt my thing.

mamoroso04
02-25-2008, 10:32 PM
Yeah I'm a 133 pounder myself, it's on a 5'5" frame though so I guess you could say I'm kind of stocky. Hopefully it won't pose much of a problem. I think I will replace the heavy weight training with a lot of calisthenics, as those have always been a strong point of mine.

toolboxdiver
02-25-2008, 10:37 PM