View Full Version : Stupid question maybe, but it's about hooks.

bagelgod
01-11-2008, 11:13 PM
Hey guys, I have a question that may/may not be fairly stupid. I've been boxing for about 3 months, and have learned to do the hook with my palm facing down.

Recently, a friend of mine said that it was amatuerish, and that real hooks are done with the palm facing you.

What is the correct form? Does one have advantages where the other doesn't, or are they identical? Thanks.

j
01-11-2008, 11:28 PM
no such thing as correct form the way you are talking about it.

work 'em both in sparring and find out what you think the differences are. that way you learn and can build a solid base instead of relying on what others say.

THE REED™
01-11-2008, 11:41 PM
fighters throw punches all different ways.... id have to say both are used... whatever comes more natural and fluent to you, should becompletely fine... not with all things... some things you need to do a certain way ... with which way the palm faces on a hook... thats all about the fighter and what feels comfortable.. me personally... i use both.... why not have two different left hooks in your arsenal rather than one..

Darkstranger
01-12-2008, 11:47 AM
In amateur bouts the judges like to see the palm facing down. It makes it easier for them to see a clean hit using the white part of your gloves.

kayjay
01-12-2008, 01:55 PM
You can fight classic examples of both.

BrooklynBomber
01-12-2008, 02:03 PM
Both can be used, I, for one, throw hook palm facing down when I throw long half jab half hook and throw hook with a palm facing me in a short distance.

kayjay
01-12-2008, 02:04 PM
Both can be used, I, for one, throw hook palm facing down when I throw long half jab half hook and throw hook with a palm facing me in a short distance.

Didn't Tommy Morrison throw it face down?

BrooklynBomber
01-12-2008, 02:09 PM
Didn't Tommy Morrison throw it face down?

I think not. Neither did Lewis.