Bookmark Website  | Free Registration  | The Team

Boxing Champions |  Boxing Schedule |  Boxing Video  |  Boxing History   |  Pound For Pound  | The Wire |  Audio  |  Arcade
Cermeno-Zambrano WBA Title Clash on 7/19, Peru - Boxing News
 
Follow BoxingScene
 
Advertisement
BoxingScene Archive
• Boxing Articles
• Boxing Interviews
• Breaking News
• Boxing Press Releases
• Boxing Results
• World Boxing News
Search BoxingScene

>>>Advanced Search<<<
                                                                                                                                                            ...............

 Last update:  6/16/2014       Read more by Joel Isaac Gonzalez         
   
Cermeno-Zambrano WBA Title Clash on 7/19, Peru
Mobile Version Share Click Here To Email   Search BoxingScene Database 

By Joel Isaac Gonzalez, notifight.com

The interim super bantamweight world champion of the World Boxing Association (WBA), Venezuelan Nehomar Cermeno who is based in Panama, will return to action after almost a year of being inactive. Cermeno will defend his title on the 19th or July in Peru, with Carlos "Mina" Zambrano, according to Cermeno's agent Manuel Pérez Barreiro.
 
It will be the first title defense for Cermeno, after he won the world title at 122 pounds on August 10 when he defeated Colombian Oscar Escandon via split decision.
 
The Venezuelan was to defend his belt last April 19 against full champion, Scott Quigg, but the fight did not materialize because the South American was unable to obtain a visa to travel to the European country.
 
Cermeno, 34, and who reigned at 118 pounds, has a record of 22 wins (13 KO), 5 losses and one draw. He won the world WBA belt at bantamweight on March 14, 2009, when he defeated via split decision Cristian Mijares.
 
Successfully defended his crown twice in the third and lost to the regular monarch, Panama's Anselmo "Chemito" Moreno.
 
Meanwhile, Zambrano, 29, is unbeaten in 23 fights, including 11 knockouts.

Tags: Nehomar Cermeno , Carlos Zambrano



 User Comments and Feedback (must register to comment)

comment by giacomino, on 06-17-2014
Ceremony was never a "champion" at 118. He won an BS interim alphabet belt, just like he did at 122. He lost when he stepped up to fight Moreno for the full alphabet belt

Post A Comment/View More User Comments (1) 

   
 Top Headlines
 Advertisement
 
 MMA Headlines
 
 Related Articles
  Bradley: Chaves Fight Could Be ...
  Golovkin Not Taking Canelo Figh...
  Povetkin on Shannon Briggs Tact...
  Nonito Donaire Eyes Comeback Fi...
  Jonathan Barros-Sergio Escobar ...
  Chris Algieri: If I Can Hurt Pa...
  Team Alexander on Khan: Winner ...
  Hopkins-Kovalev Clash: Referee,...
  Lemieux-Rosado Tops HBO Tripleh...
  De La Hoya: Khan To Face Alexan...

 Latest Active Forum Threads
Latest Active Threads
 Advertisement

 


Advertisement



Privacy Policy - Submit News - Feedback - Site Map - Advertise with Us

Copyright © 2003-2014 BoxingScene LLC. All rights reserved.